Staying at Dreams Tulum Resort & Spa | Hotel Review

I’ve been to Tulum, Mexico twice now, each time having a different experience driven by my choice in lodging. During my first trip in 2019, recapped HERE, I stayed in the cutest airbnb located off of the downtown strip, this gave us plenty of freedom, flexibility and space. During my most recent trip, in July 2021, my group opted to stay at the Dreams Tulum Resort and Spa, an all-inclusive resort located just 20 minutes from the historic, Tulum strip and 97 minutes from the Cancun International Airport. HERE, I give all of the logistics and need-to-knows about getting to Tulum from Cancun (CUN) the only airport currently servicing the area.

Firstly, how did we book? I typically start with expedia.com as I get a better understanding of what’s available and average pricing. This Tulum trip was a part of a larger, group trip, so the location was set, it was just up to me to search for the best deal! We ended booked our stay with  Booking.com who happened to be running a mobile special at the time, so we paid $1,300 for a deluxe garden view room in the adults only section. Check HERE for a mini property and room tour.

The property was huge and came with several amenities, listed out below:

-9 restaurants
-7 bars/lounges (1 swim up bar and 1 poolside bar)
-2 pools
-Private beach access
– Renowned Spa
-Fitness Center & Tennis Court
-Free wifi across the property
-Game Room
-Grocery/Convenience Store
-Room Service
-Laundry Facilities
-18 holes of golf
-Beach Volleyball and Yoga
-Nightclub

The property is also accessibility-friendly with multiple accessible rooms, bathrooms, restaurants and more.

What did I like about the property?
-The aesthetic was everything, leaving you feeling as though you were in the rainforest or in the wild with all of the lush greenery, tucked away, a mile back from the mainroad. if you are looking for a resort with a mix of luxury and relaxation, Dreams Tulum is it.


There was not shortage of things to do. From a lazy day in one of the two pools, lounging at the beach, being pampered at the spa, getting a quick sweat the gym or on the dancefloor to live music, or even enjoying a game of beach volleyball and everything in between. If you are someone who doesn’t want to venture off of the resort, you’ll still be able to keep yourself occupied.

I loved the rooms! There are a few different sections across the resort with varying room types, from adults only sections, sections with swim-up rooms, and more.

The staff were all great, super friendly and helpful!

The live music/band at night, under the stars, near the bar was a perfect night cap to perfect days. I wish they would have been able to have performances every night, or even karaoke (it was said that there was karaoke on Tuesday evenings but we left in the AM).


What could have been better?

The food! The foodie in my was highly disappointed with the food options, being an all-inclusive, you want to try it all, but you also want to enjoy it all. There weren’t many things that I would say were completely terrible, but it’s Mexico, everything I put in my mouth should be tantalizing!! My favorite restaurant was the Sushi spot! If you do decide to stay here but want to venture off to try some authentic Mexican cuisine, check HERE for my top 7 recommended restaurants to check out in Tulum.

I live for a good spa treatment and luxurious experience and was excited to get a treatment at Dreams, until we looked at the price list, it seemed like too premium of a price for the services and times being offered, so I decided to wait.

Would I stay there again?
I am not usually a fan of all-inclusive resorts, but if friends or family were planning a group trip or even destination wedding, I would definitely visit again! In my post HERE, I break down my opinion on all-inclusive resorts and even list 10 of the best from around the world.


Covid-19 Notes
: Dreams Resort was kind enough to offer free, on-site covid-19 testing, for those who stay 3 or more days and need a negative test for travel, with results coming back within 24 hours. Once you confirm your reservation, hotel staff can provide more information with getting set up.

Also, be sure to check out their website, or their social media HERE for more updates!